Creating a Virtual Machine on Azure IaaS

Azure offers a whole range of features, which you may or may not already have looked at. I shared a document a few days back which shows some examples of application architecture which can be found here https://cdrants.wordpress.com/2013/06/17/a-picture-is-worth-a-thousand-words/

Since I set up my MSDN account a few weeks ago I’ve been using it as my test lab to try out some things, including re-acquainting myself with Windows Server clustering, but with 2012 which is brand spanking new to me.  I thought I’d do a quick post to show just how simple it is to create a virtual machine within Azure, with the newly available IaaS functionality. It is an amazingly simple process and you can go from login Azure to connecting to your new VM in under 5 minutes.

Sign up

Set up your Azure account. You can do this with a credit card, and get a 60 day free trial and then pay as you go, or purchase an MSDN subscription and get a significant amount of Azure credits to utilise each month.

Creating VM

Once you have created your Azure account login to the Portal, which you can see below. This is pretty straight forward to use and you can see some of the services available on the left hand side. In this case select “Virtual Machines”. You can see a Windows VM I already created earlier is running right now.

vm1 (800x466)

A whole range of default VMs are available, as you can see below. This includes Windows and Linux VMs and many of them have been configured with the application service you require, even SharePoint Server 2013. For the new VM I’ve created I’m selecting Ubuntu server 13.04 as I haven’t touched Ubuntu in a few years and wanted to see what has changed.

vm3 (800x578)vm4 (800x577)

Now I select my settings around version release date, host name, certificate, local credentials, size of VM (memory/CPU), Storage pool to use (including DataCentre Region), public DNS record and if I want to make this part of an availability set.

vm5 (800x572) vm6 (800x576)

vm7 (800x576)

This is it. Now it kicks off the provisioning of the virtual machinevm8 (800x93)

Once created at any stage you can go in and change the performance configuration, disk attached, view performance metrics and shut down/start up the VM.

vm9 (800x519)

My VM is created now how do I connect and start using it?!

For my Ubuntu VM I use Putty and connect to the public DNS record created by Azure and then simply login and get working. If this was a windows server I would use RDP and connect to the DNS name and RDP port specified by Azure. Could not be easier!

vm10 (675x425)

Leave a Reply

