Redmond bound…

So two weeks ago I started a new and exciting step in my career and took a role with Microsoft as a Technical Solutions Professional for Cloud Integrated Storage (more to come in coming blog posts on what the heck this is) covering Australia and New Zealand. For those of you who don’t work for or deeply with Microsoft this a pre-sales role focussed on a specified technology set; in my case Cloud and Storage and, you know, stuff.

I have to admit if you asked me a year ago, or even six months ago, if I pictured myself working for Microsoft I would not of imagined it happening. However upon seeing what this role was about and the strategic value it would play with Microsoft customers and within Microsoft itself my mind was very, very quickly changed.

I started two weeks ago, in the Sydney office and, after three days in the role, I hopped over to the Mountain View office for a nice leisurely three days in the US, to really start drinking from the fire hose (for those wondering the koolaid flavour is blue). Now back it feels great to be diving into the work, head first, and adding some value. I’ve found the people and the resources available to me simply astounding since starting and can see why Microsoft have been a truly great company over the last few decades.

Obviously there are some things I’m going to have to try and get used to, such as using IE as my primary browser, bing as my search engine and even swapping out my fruity phone and tablet for a Win 8 phone and a surface….maybe some more blog posts to come on those experiences too. I’m sure it will be a good learning curve for me and a chance to get to know and appreciate technologies outside my current comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

